Marietta Auer elected member of the Leopoldina

November 14, 2023

The German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina has elected Marietta Auer, Managing Director and head of the department Multidisciplinary Theory of Law, as a member. Membership in the Leopoldina is an award for outstanding scientific achievements.

Established in 1652, the Leopoldina is the world's oldest continuously operating academy dedicated to medicine and the natural sciences. In 2008, it was officially appointed as the National Academy of Sciences, assuming two vital roles: serving as a global representative of German science and offering counsel to policymakers and the public. The Leopoldina is under the patronage of the Federal President of Germany.

With a membership exceeding 1600 individuals from over 30 countries, the Leopoldina's members champion the unrestricted advancement of science and engage in scientific, political, and public dialogues on future-relevant societal issues. Additionally, they actively contribute to nurturing young scientific talent and advocate for the protection of the human rights of persecuted scientists. Each year, existing active members nominate individuals who have demonstrated outstanding scientific accomplishments in their respective fields. These nominations undergo a rigorous, multi-stage election process, requiring substantial unanimity among the members of the Presidium and the current 40 senators.


Go to Editor View